Go To Search

Yates Award

Elizabeth Yates Award 2017
The Concord Public Library Foundation is pleased to announce that Jan Smith has been selected as the 2017 Elizabeth Yates Award winner for her work inspiring young children to read!


The Elizabeth Yates Award honors Concord resident and children's author Elizabeth Yates, who was a strong advocate of reading and who supported library programs in the Concord community during her lifetime. Elizabeth Yates received the first award named in her honor in 1994. The Elizabeth Yates Award was begun in 1994 to honor an individual in the greater Concord area who is actively engaged in inspiring young people to read.

This award can be presented to authors, illustrators, storytellers, teachers, librarians, or others involved in encouraging reading. Submitted nominations are considered by the Elizabeth Yates Award Committee.

Past Recipients
Past recipients of the Elizabeth Yates Award include:
Recipient Year
Clara Brogan 2018
Jan Smith
Ellen Kenny 2016
Karen Broth
Ann Hoey 2013
Janet Ulbrich and Lily
Brenda Kern and Sparkle
Marty Kelley 2011
Jane Merrow 2010
Cris Sokol
Autumn VanSice
Jeffrey Kent 2008
Jayne Perron 2007
Rebecca Rule 2006
Philip Yeaton 2005
Nancy Keane 2004
Carol Berry 2003
Mary Lyn Ray 2002
Dina Abelson 2001
Nancy Pender 2000
Jennifer Ericsson 1999
Jane Owen 1998
Bill/Judy Egan 1997
Donna Ciocca 1996
Theresa Toy 1995
Elizabeth Yates 1994