Applying for a Marriage License
All persons proposing to be joined in marriage within the State of New Hampshire must first obtain a marriage license. Marriage license applications may be applied for at any town or city clerks’ office in the state.
To be married in NH you do not have to establish residency. A couple wishing to marry in the State of NH may complete an application at any NH city or town clerk’s office regardless of their place of residence. This includes out-of-state residents as well. Once a valid license is issued, the couple will be free to marry within any city or town in NH.
Both parties must be present to complete the marriage license application unless one of the parties is in the military and unable to return to New Hampshire before the ceremony. If this is the case, please contact the city clerk’s office for instructions. As it does take about half an hour to process and issue marriage licenses, we ask that couples plan accordingly, and come in to obtain their marriage licenses by 3:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, with the exception of Thursdays evenings when couples must come in by 4:30 p.m.
Marriage licenses issued by municipal clerks within the State of New Hampshire are only valid for ceremonies taking place within New Hampshire. Couples planning weddings that will take place outside New Hampshire must contact the location where the marriage will occur for licensing regulations.
License Validity Period
Marriage licenses are valid for 90 days from the date of issuance. There is no longer a waiting period and the license may be used the same day. The State of New Hampshire does not require blood tests prior to marriage. Couples do not need to obtain licenses in the community in which they live or in the community where they are getting married.
The fee to obtain a marriage license in New Hampshire is $50. The marriage license fee is payable in cash or by debit and/or credit card, no checks are accepted. The license fee is set by RSA 457:29 and is payable to the City Clerk at the time the intentions are filed.
Certified copies are available after the ceremony has taken place and the marriage license has been returned to the clerk’s office. Certified copies are $15 for the first copy and $10 for subsequent copies issued at the same time.
Certified copies of the record can be obtained for a fee from the city or town clerk where the license was filed if marriage was prior to 1989. If after 1989, a certified copy should be able to be obtained at any city or town clerk in the State.
What to Bring with you when applying for a license
Applicants must bring a document that proves their identity and age such as a driver’s license, non-drivers ID or passport.
If either party applying for a marriage license has been married before they must present a certified copy of the document that ended their most recent marriage when applying for a new marriage license.
In addition to a photo ID and certified documents that ended the previous marriage (when applicable), please be prepared to provide the following information when applying for a marriage license:
• Full Name
• Date of Birth
• State of Birth
• Current address
• Social Security Number, if applicable
• Years of Education
• Certified record of date last marriage ended, if applicable
• Fathers full name and state of birth
• Mothers full maiden name and state of birth
Any person shall be guilty of a Class B Felony if he/she willfully and knowingly makes any false statement in an application for a certified copy of a vital record. (NH RSA 5-C:14).
All information on the application shall be entered accurately. Falsification of any fact can cause great hardship to you at a later date and may make you liable for criminal prosecution.
Age restrictions or qualifications
If either party is under the age of 18, please contact us for information.
We are happy to offer wedding ceremonies here at City Hall for couples who would simply like to exchange vows. To schedule a ceremony please give our office a call at (603) 225-8500. The fee for the ceremony is $50.